1 Comment

The Spirit of Christmas

red-christmas-ballOne of the things I love the most about Christmas is not Christmas Day, or the presents, or even the delicious cinnamon rolls that are the traditional Christmas breakfast in my home. No, my favorite thing about Christmas is the “spirit of Christmas.”  Now, Christmas clichés abound this time of year, so let me explain what I mean by “spirit of Christmas.”

 To me, the “spirit of Christmas” encompasses so many aspects of the human experience; from the reminder of our Savior’s birth, to the hope people find when they see long-absent friends or family members, to the generous hearts of individuals who choose this time of year to serve their friends and strangers alike.  It seems as though people, in general, are a little more joyful, selfless, and thoughtful during the Christmas season.  Signs of such behavior can been seen when someone donates a winter coat and hats to a stranger, when two brothers put aside their differences in order to spend Christmas with family, or even when someone simply smiles more at those they see as they complete their last-minute shopping.  The “spirit of Christmas” always seems to renew my hope and remind me of the good in people.

 Unfortunately, the “spirit of Christmas” only seems to last for, as expected, the Christmas season.  The “spirit of Christmas” goes into hiding and comes back out the following year just after Thanksgiving.  But what if it stayed with us the whole year?  What a radical thought.  What if the “spirit of Christmas” became our norm and people were always a little bit more friendly, more giving, more considerate?  I am not sure what the “spirit of Christmas” means to you, but for me, I want the “spirit of Christmas” to extend to the “Spirit of Christ;” I want it to expand beyond the Christmas season, encompass the love that Christ has shown us, and stay with me throughout the year and throughout my interactions.  My goal is to be a catalyst, part of the cause, instead of merely being affected by the once-a-year Christmas fervor.  Join me? 🙂

 

Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

 

**Merry Christmas and Merry Life**

One comment on “The Spirit of Christmas

  1. Great article on the “Spirit of Christmas” lasting the whole year through.

Leave a Reply

