Leave a comment

Spreading the Christmas Cheer

“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given and the government will be on his shoulders.  And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” –Isaiah 9:6

Christmas Presents image for blog

I love Christmas!  It is my favorite time of the year and with this weekend’s dusting of snow my house was filled with Christmas carols, Hallmark movies, cookies, and wrapping paper.  Christmas fills me with such joy that I feel like a little kid again and a flood of warm memories flood my thoughts as we set up the tree and unpack the nativity.  But, as an adult, I have come to realize that Christmas is not always a happy season for everyone. That for families going through hard times financially or emotionally, or for those without family Christmas, can be a really hard season.

Enter my favorite song this holiday season by Anthony Evans called Immanuel.  The chorus says:

Immanuel, our God is with us, yes he is with us still

Immanuel, he has not left us and he never will

I love it, because it reminds me that Christmas is about Immanuel, God with us, and that HE is the reason for the season.  That is what we have to celebrate whether or not we find the perfect gifts or take the best holiday card photo.  It reminds me that Christmas is about sharing His love and the gift of His son with those around me.

Reflecting on this message this holiday season, I realized that He has truly blessed me with the opportunity to serve on a ministry like Safe Families here at ECFA.  Where it is my job to connect  families in crisis, who are alone and hurting, with families who want to be the arms of God embracing them, reminding them that God is with us, he has not left us and he never will!

So as we enter this season of giving would you consider sharing with your family and friends the ministry of Safe Families?  Maybe you can just take a moment to pray for our families.  Maybe you can start by sharing the 4 minute youtube video before or after Christmas dinner.  Maybe you want to pray about you and/or your family becoming volunteers with Safe Families in 2014.

Merry Christmas!!

Joy Winquist, Safe Families Host Families Coordinator

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oczoa1fKKNM

Leave a Reply

