Leave a comment

Serving ECFA, again

children and world

Barbara Hellmer, MSW, LCSW, Adoption Program Supervisor

What a blessing to be back at Evangelical Child and Family Agency after a nearly year and a half absence! This time, I am pleased to be serving families who desire to open their hearts and homes to children needing adoption.

After graduating with a BA in Sociology from Greenfield College, I began my career in human services in 1969 working for the Illinois Department of Public Aid. In 1976, ECFA assisted me in the adoption of my son. In May 1980, I felt God’s leading to join the staff of ECFA as a foster care caseworker.

Attending graduate school part-time, I obtained a Master’s degree in Social Work from Jane Addams College of Social Work in 1986. Later that year, I took the position of Supervisor of the Foster Care Program. In 1994, I became the Director of Foster Care, and in 2005, I was appointed to the position of Director of Child Welfare Services. However, ECFA’s Foster Care Program closed in September 2011 after the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services discontinued contracting with the agency for foster care services.

I have learned a great deal about child welfare during my years with ECFA and believe this experience will equip me well for my new role as ECFA’s Adoption Supervisor. I look forward to serving each family who are interested in pursuing adoption through the agency.

About Evangelical Child & Family Agency

Adoption, Safe Families, Intact Family Services, Counseling, Pregnancy, Birthparents, Adoptive Parents

Leave a Reply

